Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

As a kid rhubarb was a thing eaten by dunking in white sugar. To be honest, it’s the only way I’ve ever eaten it, until a friend gave me a big armload of it from her backyard. It was a bit too much to just eat raw so I decided to bake into something. I went with a crisp, mixed with strawberries to take some of the edge off the sourness.

IMG_5161

Here is the recipe I used. I followed it, except for leaving out the orange zest and just using about a quarter cup of juice from a carton. I also used frozen strawberries and left out the spices.

I was kind of worried about how it would turn out. I didn’t know if it would be sour, mushy, soupy or something else less than wonderful. Luckily, it was just wonderful! A little tart, but in a super flavourful way.

If you don’t have rhubarb in the backyard, you can usually find it at farmer’s markets this time of year. Give this recipe a try, it’s different, but fantastic! Try it for breakfast with a little strawberry yogurt on top, delicious.

Leave a Reply

