Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

This is something I’ve been meaning to make for a while, but I put it off thinking it would be a lot of work. Turns out stuffed peppers are quite easy to make.

All I did was cook a pot of red quinoa and amaranth (you can use whatever you want: rice, lentils, couscous, millet, etc.). Once it was all cooked I added in some chopped onion, chopped tomato, chopped spinach, frozen corn, black beans, tomato paste and hot sauce. You can really add whatever you want. I let it all cook together for a bit, then threw in some cumin and chili powder.

While the mixture cooked I chopped the tops off of two red peppers, and cut out the white stuff, then knocked out the seeds (actually Kurt did all this). Once the peppers were ready I scooped the mixture in, then topped them with cheese. My peppers weren’t flat at the bottom, so they wouldn’t stand up. Next time I will trim them so that they are flat.

IMG_4705

I put them in a pot (to try to hold them up), in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes (until the peppers get soft). I didn’t get a picture of them after they were cooked because they were kind of a mess since they fell over while cooking. So you will just have to take my word for it!

This is really a simple meal, and you can even freeze the mixture, for a super quick meal.

It was delicious, healthy (lots of veggies!) and filling. Plus it’s kind of fun eating something out a edible bowl.

Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

