Valetine’s Day

Every year Kurt wants to skip Valentine’s Day. I don’t know what his problem is with it. Personally, I love all holidays and think any excuse to celebrate and do something special is great. We usually just make a special meal and a desert. This year, however, I plan to be a few days into my elimination diet come Friday, so food may not be the best way to celebrate.

What we have decided to do it go on a moonlight snowshoe. I saw it advertised in the paper. One of the nearby conservation areas is hosting it for free, including lending out the snowshoes, so I’m really excited. I think it sounds like a great way to enjoy each other’s company, get out of the house and be in nature, all for free!

I also saw an idea on Pinterest (I can’t find the original right now) for celebrating with kids and I’ve adapted it. The first day of the month I hung a ribbon on the wall and a little heart that says: “I love you because” now each day I add another heart with something written on it.

IMG_4611

I think it’s important to take every opportunity we can to tell people how much we love them. I want our relationship to be strong and for Kurt to always know that I love and appreciate him.

Anyone else doing anything special for this lovely month?

One thought on “Valetine’s Day

  1. I love the idea of a snowshoe walk–how romantic! And what a nice thing to do for your kiddos, too. My husband is also reluctant about Valentine’s day, but I’m gradually bringing him around.

Leave a Reply

