Bibimbap

This is one of those foods that make me wish we lived in a bigger city. I’ve looked and looked, but there doesn’t seem to be anywhere near us that sells bibimbap. For those of you who don’t know, this is a Korean dish that has vegetables (fresh, cooked and pickled) and sometimes marinated meat, rice, sauce and an egg cracked on top. It is served in a hot rock bowl. The bowl makes the rice crispy and makes the flavours all meld together. It is delicious.

I wanted to recreate it as best I could at home. I checked a bunch of recipes and then (like usual) made do with what I had.

We cut up carrots, zucchini and cabbage. I lightly stir fried them with a wee bit of garlic. We also soaked some dried wild mushrooms to hydrate them, and steamed some spinach. Carrots, zucchini, cabbage, mushrooms, spinach, some bean sprouts and sauerkraut (to stand in for anything pickled) was added to a bowl.

IMG_4530

We cooked some brown rice and then left it on the stove for a bit to get crispy on the bottom. This was added to the bowls. We poached two eggs until the white was set, then carefully put one on top of each bowl. I finished it was a drizzle of sesame oil and a sprinkle of sesame seeds.

IMG_4532

Then we stirred them all together and dove in.

IMG_4534

It was delicious and fun to make. I only wish we had stone bowls, but I checked some websites and they are very expensive, also I can’t imagine how one would go about washing such a thing. So I guess our interpretation will have to do for now.

One thought on “Bibimbap

Leave a Reply

