5 Ingredient Curry

I’ve been trying to use up some of our dried goods. I’m going to try to choose two things each week to make a dent in. This week I chose mung beans (which I’m sprouting for later in the week) and green lentils. I searched for recipes to try, and this one caught my eye. We had it with homemade naan and a salad. It only took a couple of hours in the slow cooker. It took almost no actual prep time, and it is a very inexpensive dish.

IMG_4493

It turned out fairly good and it was super simple. This was actually my first time cooking with coconut milk. I’ve avoided it in the past since I hate coconut. On its own I thought it tasted like sunscreen, but it worked well in the recipe and I think it would be a good thing to have on hand for curries.

IMG_4495

The only thing I changed about the recipe was to add chili powder, and more cumin. I also added in some leftover roasted sweet potato. I would definitely recommend adding in a vegetable to this, since it is pretty bland. The sweet potato worked great, but I think zucchini, peppers or some greens would be good too.

IMG_4498

If I were to use this recipe again in the future I think I would just use it as a base and then add some more things to it. I do think it is good to have some good slow cooker recipes in your arsenal and this is great for that.

2 thoughts on “5 Ingredient Curry

  1. Great you liked it and I like your variations ideas.:) I found some brans of coconut milk taste like soap, especially after a few days of storage in the fridge. Others like Trader Joe’s and Thai Kitchen are fine.

Leave a Reply

