Organizing Home Renovations

It has been nearly ten months since we moved into our new house. We’ve quite a bit of work on it since then including new floors upstairs, re-doing the downstairs bathroom, starting to demo the pool, cleaning up the yard and making gardens. We still have a long way to go until the house is where we want it.

Sometimes it is so overwhelming when I think of all the jobs that need to be done. Many of the jobs are big and will take a lot of time and money. Others are smaller, but there are so many of these that I feel like I don’t know where to start.

What I’ve done to try to organize it all is to make a list (I put it on Google Docs so that both Kurt and I can edit it). I organized the list by small (things that only take a little time and money to do), medium, and large (jobs that will cost over $1000 and will take multiple days).

It still seemed like a lot. I went through the list and put stars beside the jobs that I would like to finish before the summer, since summer is when we travel and try to get as much outside work done as possible. I didn’t choose any big jobs since we already did the floors this year and I think one expensive job a year is enough. I chose the jobs that need to be done soon for safety or practical reasons (for example, changing out the leaky faucet in the kitchen to avoid damage to the cabinets).

When I look at it this way it is much more manageable. By focusing on a few jobs at a time we can wait for sales on those things and then go from there.

Does any have an great systems for organizing home repairs/renovations?

Leave a Reply

