Carmelitas

This is a recipe I’ve had sitting on my Pinterest board for a while. As fate would have it we had a bunch of caramels left over from Halloween. It’s actually a super quick and easy recipe to make. I think it took about as much time to unwrap all those darn caramels as it took to do everything else.

The only changes to recipe that I made was to use milk instead of cream. I also added a bit of oat bran to the oatmeal and a splash of vanilla. Next time I would definitely also sprinkle some salt on top of the caramel layer to liven things up a bit. I also recommend using parchment paper if you want them to look nice and if you ever want to use your pan again. Sadly, I did not do this so I have mad scrubbing in my future.

carmelitas

carmelitas2

carmelitas3

carmelitas4

carmelitas5

As for how they turned out, they are good. Nice texture, nice balance of flavours and just enough amount of sweet. I wouldn’t say they are the best squares I’ve ever had, but I think that’s because I’m a chocolate girl through and through, and these aren’t very chocolatey. They are still really great though and I will make them again next time I have caramels lying around.

carmelitas6jpg

Leave a Reply

