Simple Tuna Cakes

Once in a while beans and tofu just don’t cut it so we decide to ‘treat’ ourselves to fish for dinner. We don’t eat tuna very often because I worry about the impact of it. We buy pole and line caught, but I think it still it something that needs to be eaten in great moderation. We usually just eat it fairly plain, but in order to stretch it out, I made it into simple cakes.

In a bowl I put a few squirts of dijon mustard, a few squirts of lemon juice, a bit of olive oil, some parsley, and two small eggs. I added two cans of tuna and a few spoonfuls of the juice from the cans (don’t tell the cats, but I didn’t give them all of it). I mixed this all together than added bread crumbs to hold it together nicely. I covered it and put in the fridge for about an hour.

Once the rest of dinner was nearly ready, I took the tuna mixture out, heated a bit of oil in a pan and using my hands formed little patties. I made 8, but you can do whatever feels right. I smooshed them down with the of the spatula to make them a little flatter and left them for about 2 minutes on each side.

We ate them with a sauce made from mayo, dill and a tiny bit of regular old relish. They were really good!

I forgot to take a picture until I was about to eat, so it is terrible, but at least you get the idea.

image

Leave a comment