Easy Whatever Muffins

I like making muffins, but I hate following recipes. Muffins usually are the type of thing where you need to closely follow a recipe in order for them to turn out. I’ve had a lot of muffin failures by making things up as I go, or trying to make substitutions.

Recently, however, I found a fairly fool proof method for muffins.

1 cup of wet stuff (in my case a mix of mashed bananas and grated zucchini, but could be pumpkin, carrot or applesauce…or whatever)
1 egg
a generous squirt of vanilla
1/3 cup of sugar (give or take)
mix these together then,
half a cup of oats (or something similar or just extra flour)
1 cup of flour
1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of baking powder
mix all this together
then add to the first mixture and mix, just as much as needed, don’t go crazy
add nuts or chocolate chips or whatever is lying around
put into muffin holding device (I use silicon muffin cups because I HATE washing muffin tins)
bake for about 25-30 minutes at 350, poke to check for doneness

I like this recipe because I can change and modify it whatever way and it still seems to work. Also, I just need to remember the basic ratio and not have to check a recipe every time.

Have some old fruit lying around, give it a try! If you come up with any great additions/combinations, let me know!

Leave a Reply

