Starting a Quilt

I’ve decided to make another quilt for our bed. I thought I would go through what I do in the beginning of the quilt making process.

Firstly, I choose a pattern. These days I usually just check out my sewing Pinterest board to do this. I’m thinking this pattern right now, but I hold the right to change my mind (many times).

Next I choose colours. To do this I either randomly pick what I think would look nice, use a picture of a quilt for inspiration, or else use a piece of fabric. I actually really like the colours of the quilt I linked to above, so I’m thinking of going with blues and chartreuse. Either that or blues with hits of coral. Not sure yet.

wpid-20130821_132946.jpg

The last step before any actual work starts is to start building a collection of fabric to use. Sometimes Daisy helps.

wpid-20130821_130248.jpg

First I start with what I already have. I choose one that catches my eye and look for others that look good with it. Once I know what I have I can start looking for more fabric. I don’t really have a good fabric store near me so I will probably be looking online this time around. I’m thinking it will be much harder to get the tone right, but I’m hoping for the best! If anyone has any favourite fabric websites let me know!

Leave a Reply

