DIY Guestbook

These days guestbooks come in all shapes and sizes, and most of them are not actually books. I wanted something that could be displayed and not just tucked away after the wedding destined to end up as clutter. I found what I was looking for on etsy, but they were way out of my price range so I decided to make my own.

100_3762

I ordered some little paper hearts in the colours I wanted. You can easily do this yourself with thick scrapbooking paper and a punch or one of those fancy paper cutting gizmos if you have one. We just bought ours because we were super overwhelmed with all of the colour choices in the store, so by ordering the hearts are choices were limited. I also bought a shadow box from Ikea and a piece of scrapbook paper that fit the hole.

On the day of the wedding I had the hearts in a jar with a small bowl beside it. I had a chalkboard explaining to my guests to pick a heart, sign it, then drop it in the bowl. I know if you buy them, they come already put together, but I thought it would be better for the hearts to be loose and not glued down yet in case someone made a mistake.

After the wedding I took all of the signed hearts and counted how many I had. I decided to add some blank hearts in just so that it fit the space better. I ended up using 81 hearts so my display is 9 hearts by 9 hearts. The hearts then all had to be folded. Putting it together was a little stressful at first. I determined the centre of the paper and put a glue dot on a heart to attach it there. I worked in rows gluing on hearts with the opposite glued down each time (this will make more sense if you look at the picture). I didn’t use a pattern, I just tried not to do the same colour twice in a row.

100_3764

All in all the project cost less that $40 and took about an hour to assemble. I think it is a really cute way to remember the guests at my wedding and it’s a nice sort of 3D piece for the wall.

2 thoughts on “DIY Guestbook

  1. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having
    a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

