Island Iced Tea

On our trip my drink of choice was definitely lime juice (which I’m going to attempt to make soon), but once in a while to change things up I would get an iced tea. It was always delicious. I’ve tried to recreate it as best I can though it’s not exactly the same. I’m not sure if the limes in our stores are the same ones in Central America and I’m also not exactly sure what kind of sugar they use. It’s kind of brown, but didn’t look quite like anything I could find (if anyone knows for sure, please let me know!). I used demerara.

IMG_3753

Anyways, I picked up a bunch of limes from the grocery store. I’m not sure what kind, but they were dirt cheap. I washed them in diluted vinegar and then rinsed them well. I boiled a kettle full of water and steeped two tea bags. I used orange pekoe this time, but I’d love to try making this using different kinds of tea. As the tea steeped I made a simple syrup of half a cup of demerara sugar in about two cups of water. Use as much or little sugar you want depending. on how sweet you want it. Cook it on high, stirring constantly and take it off as soon as the sugar dissolves. I took the teabags out once the colour was to my liking, then poured the sugar water in. I added two sliced limes and ice.

IMG_3758

It doesn’t taste exactly the same, but it is refreshing on a hot day!

4 thoughts on “Island Iced Tea

Leave a Reply

