Beans and Rice

Beans and rice is something I make quite often because it’s easy, it all goes in one pot (except if you use dried beans) and it tastes even better the next day for lunches.
My method is pretty simple. I soak some beans a day or two ahead of time in the fridge. I use whatever kind I have, black, kidney, this time I used mung beans, which worked out really well because they are tiny so they cook fast. Mung beans are also good for those who don’t really like beans because you hardly notice that they are there.
I chop an onion and put in an oiled pot to brown, then add some chopped garlic (I used two cloves), and a chopped pepper or two (whatever colour you have). I then add some spices, usually cumin and chili powder and a bay leaf, but you can get creative. I let it cook for a bit then add a can of chopped tomatoes. I throw in however much rice I want, then add broth or water and a few splashes of hot sauce. Let it cook, stirring every once in a while to prevent it from sticking. If it looks like it’s getting too dry add more broth or water. Once the rice is cooked it is ready.
We either eat it on tortillas, or by itself with cheese grated on top.

The picture isn’t great so I threw in one of Daisy in her new favorite spot to make up for it. Enjoy!

beansrice

IMG_3342

Leave a Reply

