Travelling with Cats

Later this week I will be embarking on a dreaded journey. I will be travelling with these guys:

IMG_2842

Sure they look all sweet and quiet in this picture, but them doesn’t mean that getting them into a car is any picnic.

As soon as the carrier comes out Homer bolts, usually under a bed where it is really difficult to retrieve him. Heck, he’s even on edge if a suitcase comes out. Daisy on the other hand, only reacts once Homer does and her hiding….we let’s say she won’t be winning any hide and seek tournaments. She’s better at playing dead.

Oct&Nov '11 039

So anyways, after we run around and try to catch them the real fun begins. We put them in the car and as soon as we’re to the end of the street the performance has begun. It’s almost as if they think that if they hit the right octave of meows that I will turn the car around and go home. Their ranges go from pathetic squeaky little meows to what we affectionately call Homer’s fog horn noises. It’s really quite hard on the nerves. Even a short trip down the street to the vet is made horrible by this.

Thankfully, the eventually fall asleep. Until, heaven forbid, I have to stop for any reason. Then it starts all over again. Fun.

Anyways, here are some of my tips to make travelling by car with cats less terrible:

We have a soft sided carrier similar to this. We switched from a regular plastic one because Homer was scratching at the air holes and the plastic was hurting his little toes. The only thing with a soft carrier is that you should check the seams before you travel, otherwise you may have a problem (speaking from experience) when your cats Houdini out mid-trip.

We try to keep them covered in a blanket so that they can’t see out the window. I think this helps them not panic when they see the movement of the vehicle.

Also try to the vehicle cool, otherwise they may overheat. When I am travelling alone with them, like later this week I put them in the front seat so that the AC reaches them easily.

I try to make sure that their claws are trimmed before we leave. This helps with less destruction to the carrier.

I don’t give them any sort of medicine or anything before we travel, because I don’t really think those things are safe. I wanted to get them Thundershirts, like this cool kitty, but Kurt wouldn’t let me. If you’ve tried them on your cat with success let me know, it may sway him.

Last tip (I almost forgot this one, but it is tremendously important), cats hate Megadeth (or any other loud metal). Whenever something like that comes on the radio the cats immediately wake up and start howling, or maybe I’m wrong and they are singing along. Either way, it’s best avoided.

Leave a Reply

