Kale Pesto

Our garden kale is growing really well. Luckily it has escaped the notice of the wascilly wabbit visiting us at night (sadly, our carrots did not fare so well). I saw a recipe for kale pesto and decided to try it. I usually do not like pesto because I do not like strong basil flavour and pine nuts make my mouth feel weird (it’s a condition called ‘pine nut syndrome’, seriously). Anyways, I don’t like pesto, but Kurt really does so I thought I would try this.

IMG_3290

It was super easy to put together, you just put kale, toasted walnuts, lemon juice, parmesan, salt, garlic and olive oil in the food processor and buzz it all together. It took me maybe 10 minutes, and that includes toasting the walnuts and washing the kale. I just cooked some pasta the put it over and baked some sweet potatoes for a simple, healthy meal.

pesto

As for how it tastes, well it is fairly strong. If you don’t like kale very much you might try doing half kale and half spinach, or basil. We like kale (or at least have grown used to it) and so we enjoyed it. It’s a super quick and really healthy thing to make in a hurry, plus the left over pesto can be used for a bunch of things. Be creative.

Give it a try, you might like it!

One thought on “Kale Pesto

  1. I made some like this a few weeks ago. I think you’re right, it does need to be cut with some basil or spinach. However, it was a great way to get some greens into my pasta-lovin’ lad, so it’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

