Sprouting

The other day I was at the grocery store and I saw a big bag of mung beans for 90 cents. I grabbed them because it was a good deal. When I got home I remembered that you can sprout mung beans.
IMG_3116
Here’s how:
Grab a clean mason jar and ring. You don’t need the flat part of the lid.
Rinse off your desired amount of beans. I used about ¼ of a cup. Put them in the jar.
Cut a square of cheesecloth to fit over the lid. I just put the cheese cloth over, then screw the ring lid over and cut the excess off after.
Twice a day pour some water in the jar through the cheesecloth. Swish it around and then pour it out again. Leave the beans somewhere where they will get a little sunlight.
In about three days you will have delicious sprouts. Once they have little white tails about an inch long, put them in the fridge. They will last about 4 days in the fridge.
IMG_3118
They are super healthy, and almost free to make!
They are great in salads, stir-frys, with cream cheese on crackers, or just eaten by the handful.
Now I’m on to sprouting lentils.
Here’s a link for different things you can sprout and the nutritional information on each (soybean sprouts are super healthy, I thing I will have to look for those next).

Leave a Reply

