Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Last weekend we were at Costco and it seemed like they had gone hummus crazy. Literally every second free sample that we had was another brand of the stuff. Some were good, some not so much. Anyways, we were both inspired to make our own varieties. I chose to make roasted red pepper and Kurt made olive.
I followed Andrea Chesman’s recipe from 366 Delicious Ways to Cook Rice, Beans and Grains, which is a great comprehensive cook book.
It was pretty easy. I just stuck two red peppers on the elements of my gas stove to char the skin, waited for them to cool and then peeled off the skin and the insides. Then I threw them both into the food processor with some garlic, tahini, lemon juice and hot sauce. I didn’t really measure anything. I buzzed it up until it looked smooth and crazy red. I added 3 cups of cooked chickpeas and continued processing until it was smooth. I added about a half a cup of water to make it smoother.
I didn’t any pictures of the process sadly, but here it is completed:
Red Pepper Hummus
It was pretty good, and better the next day. Hopefully it continues getting better because there is tonnes of it! Next time I would roast the garlic first, and use less chickpeas. I think this would make it much more flavourful and improve the texture. It sure it pretty though!

Leave a Reply

