Meal Planning- Again

I know, I’ve written a lot about meal planning. This time, though, I think I finally have found a system that works well for us. It is flexible enough that we can have variety, but concrete enough that it can be relied upon. I based it around the things that we were usually eating anyways. The idea is that each week night has a sort of theme. Anything can be cooked and eaten that night as long as it involves the theme. This ensures that our meals are healthy and well rounded. It also works out well that we can use a variety of ingredients (whatever’s on sale/in the fridge) for many of the meals so I don’t have to shop specifically for the meals unless there’s something special I want to make. I can also still try new recipes, since they can easily be fit it.
So without further ado, here it is:

Monday- Eggs
Tuesday- Stir fry
Wednesday- Curry
Thursday- Pasta
Friday- Tacos

Mondays are the hardest, mainly because Kurt doesn’t really like eggs, but I do and they are very quick and easy. Other than that I think it is fairly self-explanatory. On the weekends we are often away, or have company so we can plan for that based on the situation.

I really like having the structure. It makes things reliable and stable (in an increasingly unstable world). The world (at least the blogs I read and Pinterest) seem a little obsessed with meal planning, but it honestly makes life easier. What’s your strategy?

Leave a Reply

