Butterscotch Pudding Pie

I know it’s been a while since Easter, but I haven’t shared this recipe with you yet and it’s really good, so here we go.
Before Easter I spent a while looking for something great to make for dessert. Nothing really caught my eye. I had some oreo cookie crumbs that I’ve been wanting to use up, so I decided to use those and make pudding pie. I was planning on making butterscotch, using a box since that’s how my mom always did it. On a whim I decided to look up a recipe and see how hard it would be. I make chocolate pudding and that’s not too difficult, but I didn’t actually know what made something butterscotch. Turns out it’s pretty easy. I went with this recipe. It’s really good and not too complicated, but it creates many more dirty dishes that you actually need. I made it into pie by added melted butter into the crumbs and pressing them into little ramekins (they were mini pies).
IMG_2976
Then I made the pudding according to the recipe. The only change I made was to use regular brown sugar, but I think that dark brown would really enhance the flavour. I also didn’t have to strain it. The only lumpy part was at the very bottom of the pot, and I saved that for me for later! I put the pudding into the ramekins over the crust and sprinkled some left over crumbs on top. My lovely family commented that it looked like dirt.
IMG_2982
It was a good dessert for company because you can make it earlier as long as you put plastic wrap over it really tight. It’s simple, but fairly decadent, plus it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

