Cranberry Sauce

We had the Easter meal at my house this year. We went shopping on Saturday for some last minute items. Canned cranberry sauce was on the list. I found it and went to reach for, but wait, there just underneath the cans were fresh cranberries. Hmmm, I thought to myself. They were cheaper, so I figured why not? It had never actually crossed my mind to make fresh, uncanned cranberry sauce. I find this strange.

Anyways, back at home I set to it. I did it early since I figured it could sit in the fridge and this way there would be one less thing to do during the mad turkey dash. I flipped over the bag looking for a recipe, not sure what to expect. It turns out it is one of the easiest things to make in history. Seriously. Half a cup of water, half a cup of sugar. Boil for 5 minutes. Add rinsed berries. Wait until the skins break. Done. I was shocked. They were delicious. They were a tiny bit tart and very flavourful in a way that canned just isn’t.

Do most people make their own cranberry sauce? I have no idea. If they don’t, why the heck not? Simple and delicious. I think I might start making it on non turkey related days. I may even can some (but then it would just be canned cranberry sauce I guess 😉

IMG_2974

IMG_2978

Leave a Reply

