Butternut Squash Soup

We’re still trying to make it through our Fall squash. I think next time we will buy a bunch of small squashes instead of 2 giant monster squashes. I wanted soup and we didn’t have very many veggies, so I busted out the butternut. My method was to saute onions, chopped celery, and garlic. I chopped and peeled some of the squash, then threw that it. I added water, then a spoonful of chicken base (it’s like really concentrated stock, a paste almost). I put in a bay leaf, salt, pepper and a little tomato juice then left it for a while. After the squash was soft I pureed it and added cumin, chili powder, chopped kale and some Isreali couscous. I let it simmer a little longer for everything to cook down.
IMG_2720

We ate it with corn muffins. It will filling and delicious, but there were enough flavours in it for the squash to not be overpowering (a problem I often have with squash soup).

IMG_2722

Leave a Reply

