Lentil Burgers

I finally succeeded at making a burger that held together. I’m so proud. It started with a desire to use up some of our mountains of green lentils, since Kurt revealed to me recently that he doesn’t like them. I stumbled upon a recipe for lentil and rice burgers. Sadly we had to chuck the rice because it had bugs in it (yuck). I checked the cupboard and decided couscous would be a good stand in. I cooked the lentils, and hydrated the couscous. I then busted out our new food processor that we got for Christmas. This was one of the other reasons I chose this recipe. Before we got thing it seemed I needed one every other day, now that we have one I didn’t use it for a month. Go figure. Anyways, I put the lentils, one egg, some ketchup, grainy mustard, onion compote, a handful of spinach and cumin in and buzzed it all up. I added the couscous (with some TVP thrown in for good measure) at the end. This is what I got:

IMG_2694

I formed it into patties, cooked them on the cast iron until brown on each side then put them in the oven for about 15 minutes at 375.

Here’s the end result:

IMG_2695

They are green, which is a little weird, but I hear green things are very in right now. They are great either on a bun, or just by itself. They actually were very similar to a falafel, so would be great with those types of toppings. The only problem is, I now have to keep buying green lentils!

Leave a Reply

