Couscous Salad

In an effort to use up the stuff in my pantry I’ve been choosing two ingredients and working them into my weekly meal plan. This week was lentils and couscous. The lentils were used for a cheese and broccoli dish. Couscous I find a little harder to make into things because it is so different from other things. It’s not really a grain, and it’s not really a pasta (even though it’s made from the same thing). I don’t like to eat it plain, but I can’t just throw it into a recipe either. So anyways, here is what I came up with:

IMG_2638

And the ultra close up:IMG_2640

It was really quite easy and adaptable to whatever you have on hand. I just chopped some spinach, artichoke hearts, bocconcini, red onion, black olives, red pepper and tomato, and put it in a bowl with some chickpeas. I mixed some TVP and couscous and then poured boiling water over it. I covered it and let it sit a while. Once it looked hydrated, I fluffed it with a fork and added it to the veggies. Kurt made a dressing with oil, apple cider vinegar and some dried herbs (maybe he will be so kind as the share a more detailed recipe in the comments?).

It was really fantastic, and even better the next day. You can eat it cold or hot. I had a bunch of couscous left over so I’m making it again tonight and adding some cucumber as well. I think this would make a great summer lunch, since it’s so easy and flavourful.

One thought on “Couscous Salad

  1. Pretty zure the artichoke oil made it magical. You know I don’t believe in recipez. Ztandard italian zpicez, artichoke jar oil, vinegar.

Leave a Reply

