Granola

I’ve wanted to start making granola for a really long time, but I never got around to it because I was always missing some ingredients, or else there would be so much cereal in the cupboard that I didn’t feel right making more. Before Christmas I finally got around to it, because I was trying to use up some of the quinoa we have and I found out you can throw it in granola. I worried me at first, because I assumed the quinoa would be inedibly hard, turns out it’s fantastic. It’s hard to describe, but it becomes like little hard crunchy balls that add great texture.

I used this recipe as a base. I didn’t follow the baking instructions close enough the first time, so I burnt it. When you take it out, it should be a little browned, but still soft. It will harden as it sits, trust me.

The think I love about granola is that you can throw in whatever you want. I basically substituted everything I didn’t like in the recipe for stuff I like. I used oatmeal, chopped almonds, chopped walnuts, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, hemp hearts, ground flax, wheat germ. I sweetened it with melted apple cinnamon honey. I also used sunflower oil instead of coconut oil. I tried to keep the proportions close to what was used in the recipe, so that I would how much oil and honey to use.

IMG_2632It’s super easy to make, healthy and delicious. I’ve been eating it with berries and milk or yogurt. I definitely have no desires to eat store bought cereal again!

Leave a Reply

