Favourite Recipe

This is one of my go-to recipes. I make it fairly often, and try to make a two batches at a time to freeze.

I call it lentil loaf. I start by cooking some lentils. Whatever colour you have is fine. I don’t measure, I just rinse a bunch and throw them in a pot well covered with water and boil. Check to make sure there’s enough water every so often. In the meantime I grate vegetables into a bowl. Usually carrots, onions and zucchini, but I also used a peeled eggplant this time. In with the veggies I add some herbs and sauces, usually some mustard, but whatever you have around to add some flavour is fine. Next add some bread crumbs. I used oatmeal this time since that’s what I had. When the lentils are done (taste to check), pour out any extra water and mix them in with everything else. Wait a little bit until they cool and then crack in as many eggs as it needs to look a little batter-y, usually I use two. Put it all into a loaf pan (or muffin tin) and grate some cheese on top. Put it into a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes or until it seems to be holding together. Pair it with some greens and you’re good to go!

Leave a Reply

