Embroidered Word Art

Erg, I already did this post, but part of it was mysteriously deleted, so here I go again.

I’ve been wanting to do a project involved words for a while now. I blame Pinterest. I was thinking something was a canvas at first, but this weekend I decided to try something a little easier first.

I started by choosing what phrase I wanted. I went with ‘Do more of what makes you awesome’. I typed it up, and sized it so that it would fit in a 4″x6″ frame. Then I printed it, and clipped the printed paper to some cardstock.

The next step was to take a needle and poke holes through the letters. Try to make enough that the letters will be recognizable, but not too many that when your cat does a dramatic jump off the couch arm at you, grabs the string and tries to run away, they don’t rip, not that that would happen. So, not too close together. Also, you need to have an even amount of holes in each letter.

Lastly, unclip the printed page and pick what colour of embroidery thread you want and go to it, weaving in and out of the holes. If you find that you need another hole for whatever reason, it’s fine to poke one with your needle during the process. Once I was finished I chose a frame, took the glass out and used it to trace the right size on my paper, then cut it out and pop it in.

I want to do a bigger one on fabric next, I just have to wrap my head around how to do it. I don’t think it will be as simple.

Leave a Reply

