IBS

I mentioned a while back that I was trying to go gluten-free for a while. It really didn’t go well, nor did I last very long. Recently I started looking into IBS. For a long time I have just assumed that I have IBS, but I never really took the time to look into it. I’ve gone to a myriad of different doctors about my gastro problems and have had a tonne of different tests done, but there were never any conclusions. From what I’ve read, at that point doctors usually diagnose IBS and call it a day. My doctors never really did that, they figured since I wasn’t losing weight and the problems seemed to come and go, it wasn’t a big deal.

Anyways, I was looking into it and I realized that the foods that commonly trigger IBS are the same foods that cause me problems. I know for me the major players are bran, fat, and dairy. There may be some others, but these are the foods that affect me the worst.

These are really hard foods to cut out completely (especially since we have a huge jar of whole wheat flour in the cupboard), especially since two are foods I’ve considered healthy. I’m slowly trying to reduce my consumption and think of ways to replace these foods with good alternatives, for example, spelt flour.

Hopefully, I can eventually cut out the foods that make me sick. In the meantime, I’m trying to keep things balanced.

Leave a Reply

