Craftasauras Rex

As I mentioned before I’m going to try to make all (or as many as possible) of my Christmas gifts this year. For the adults in our lives we will be making foodstuffs, so it’s too early to start yet. Luckily, we have two kiddos to give to. I’ve known what I wanted to make for my niece for a while. I saw it on Pinterest:


Isn’t he cute? Anyways, the other day I dove right in. I made a template out of a cardboard box, cut the fabric and went for it. Luckily I used scrap fabric because some how I cut it wrong, and when sewn together one side was the wrong side out. Also, it looked too brontosaurus-y, not enough like a stegosaurus. I gave up for a while and my half sewn dinosaur sat as mocking my defeat. Today, I grew confident and tried again. Attempt number two went exactly the same way, only larger. I even made the wrong way out error again.

I don’t know how I did it, but I carried on. Since the little guy above was only the picture, and didn’t have any info on how to make him, I went after another source of help. I googled taggie dinosaur toy and found this great website.

The steps made it so easy, and it’s a way I would have never thought of (sewing along the traced line, then cutting out). Brilliant. It was still really hard, especially since my tracing skills seem to leave a lot to be desired. I did it though and I’m happy with the results. Drum roll…..

Yay!!!!

On another note, I was looking for information on how to do eyes and I found this website that sells knitting patterns and I’m seriously considering learning how to knit more than a rectangle just to make this.

3 thoughts on “Craftasauras Rex

  1. So cute! You did a great job. I’m so glad my tutorial helped you out a bit. Haven’t been able to keep up with my blog since baby #3 was born, but glad it is still being visited and used. 🙂 Good luck making all the Christmas gifts! (what a great idea~ wish I had the time…)

Leave a Reply

