Freezing Tomatoes- Part 2

Today I set out to conquer the rest of my tomato pile by roasting them. I started early, because this particular recipe takes 10 hours. All I did was wash them, cut them in half and remove the stem part (I don’t know the technical term for this). Then I took two rectangular high walled baking pans (ie. brownie pan), drizzled some olive oil on the bottom, threw in some thyme, oregano, basil, whole garlic, salt and pepper, then placed in the tomatoes, cut side down. A little more oil drizzled on top and they are ready for a 200 degree oven. Simple. Much easier than blanching and removing the skins of 30 pounds of tomatoes.

After all day, untouched, in the oven, they turned into this:

Then, all that was left to do was peel off the skin (which was really gross). I guess, as mentioned in the title of this post, there should be the additional step of freezing them, but I’ve decided to make them into some roasted tomato basil soup, so my title is misleading. If you did want to freeze them, you would just throw them into a freezer bag and squeeze out the air. Again, simple. Plus, they taste great. Seriously, you should try this next time you have 10 hours free! I will let you know how the soup goes next week.

Leave a Reply

