Bagel Making

I found a recipe for bagels on Pinterest the other day. “Huh”, I thought, “That seems simple”. So, last weekend I tried it. I didn’t actually use the recipe I found, because I tend to not trust random bread recipes for some reason. Instead I checked in my copy of Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day. Surprisingly, it was one of the easiest recipes I have come across in the book so far. There were no strange techniques that required a lot of reading. All I did was:

1. Mix a teaspoon of yeast with a sprinkle of salt and a spoon of buckwheat honey (the recipe actually called for barley malt syrup or some other substitution which I didn’t have so I used something I had, since I have no idea what the real ingredient tastes like I just picked something to put in). Add a cup and bit of water (I used about a cup and a half because I used a third whole wheat flour which really sucks up the water). Mix this all together and leave it a couple of minutes.

2. Add three and a half cups of flour (again, I used 1 cup whole wheat, the rest ap). Mix it until it looks like dough, then knead for 3 minutes. It should be stiff.

3. Let it rise for about an hour

4. Separate it into about 6-8 balls, then poke a hole in them. Stretch them out into bagel shape. Lay them out on a greased cookie sheet, covered in a silicone mat.

5. This is where I deviated from the recipe, which almost led to disaster. The book says to leave them in the fridge overnight. Since I wanted them sooner than that, I left them on the counter to rise. This is how they looked when I came home from the mall:

 

Yikes! I would recommend doing the fridge thing.

6. Boil a big pot of water. Preheat the oven to 500 degrees. Once the water is boiling, add a teaspoon of salt, one of baking soda and a tablespoon of your chosen syrup/honey. Drop the bagels in. I did two at once. After a minute, flip it, after another minute, put it onto the regreased, covered cookie sheet. Once they’re all done, drop the temperature down to 450. Bake for 8 minutes on each side.

 

7. Enjoy!

 

One thought on “Bagel Making

Leave a Reply

