Lentil Loaf

This is one of my fairly regular dishes. I like it because it’s similar to a regular meat dish, but way healthier. Also it’s great for lunches for a few days, which is always a huge plus for any recipe. Like usual, I don’t have exact measurements. I usually cook a cup of lentils. While they cook I mix together 2 eggs, a squirt of ketchup, mustard and any other seasoning stuff (herbs, spices) I feel like adding. I grate in a zucchini and a carrot. The other night I didn’t have a carrot so I threw some raw spinach in instead. Once the lentils are cooked and have cooled a little, I throw them in. I mix it up then add in some bread crumbs until it looks like it will hold together. If I don’t have bread crumbs or I’m feeling a little oatey, I add some oatmeal in the mix. I put it into a loaf pan and grate some cheese on top (I use whatever kind I have on hand). I bake it at 350 degrees for about 30-40 minutes, or until it feel solid (I usually cut a small line in the middle to check if it’s set).

I like to eat mine with ketchup, Kurt eats his with barbeque sauce. You should try it. You will love it, I promise!

P.S. I use green lentils, I’ve recently heard rumours about red lentils but have never seen them to confirm they exist.

 

Leave a Reply

