Two new recipes

This week we tried a couple of new things. Both were very well liked, for the most part.

First we tried wheat berries. I have been meaning to get these for some time, but always forgot. I finally saw them at the bulk store (labelled wheat kernels). I’ve been coming across them in a lot of recipes, but never really knew what they were. They looked a lot like popcorn kernels. It may have been my imagination, but I really thought they also smelled like popcorn while cooking. I just cooked them in water like any other grain. I wanted to make them by themselves so that we would know whether we liked them or not. They took forever to cook. Here they are with a side of basa fish and green beans with ricotta.

As I said, we really liked it. The problem came a little afterwards when I became very sick. I think it’s because of the bran. I’ve always had a problem with bran. Anyone else have this issue?

The other thing I made was veggie shepherd’s pie. I forgot to take a picture of this, but it was basically vegetable and barley stew with corn and mashed potatoes. It was very good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two new recipes

Leave a Reply

