Alternative Burgers

Yesterday I was in the mood for burgers. I thought about what was in the pantry that would lend itself nicely to a burger and landed on quinoa. I looked up a recipe online, found one that sounded interesting and that we had most of the ingredients for so I wouldn’t have to substitute too wildly. It was kind of a weird recipe because it had cottage cheese in it, but hey, I love cottage cheese. The burgers weren’t great. They were very mushy, so very hard to flip and they had very little flavour. The texture was decent. They were more like pancakes with onions and spinach in them than burgers.

I have been making bean, veggie or grain burgers for a while now. I’ve tried quite a few different recipes, but I haven’t come across anything that I wanted to make again. Maybe I’m just expecting too much. I think next time I will try to invent my own. I make lentil loaf that is fantastic, maybe I just have to make it into patties instead. That might work. If you have a great burger recipe, please share!

One thought on “Alternative Burgers

Leave a Reply

