Laundry Soap

For a few years now I’ve been making my own laundry soap. I love it. It takes very little time, works great, leaves my cloths with no scent (I hate smelling like anything), and it dirt cheap. Here’s how I do it:

I start with a great big pot. Add some water, I usually start with about 4 cups. Add half a cup of borax and half a cup of washing soda. Put it on the stove at about medium heat. Stir until the powders dissolve. Then take a bar of soap. I use Linda soap that they sell in the laundry aisle. I’d prefer to use something purer, like castile, but it’s so darn expensive. Take the bar and a knife and make a little mark where half is, then mark quarters. You will need a quarter of the bar for each batch. I usually grate the soap in with my mom’s old cheese grater. This is hard work. I think I read that some people use food processors, but I would look into that before doing it.

Anyways, grate the soap into the pot. Turn up the heat a little and stir once it a while until it melts. Add 12 more cups of water. It should get sort of clear.

Wait for it to cool a little then either pour it into whatever vessel you want to store it or, or using a funnel, put it into old, clean detergent bottles.

Leave it overnight to set. When you want to use it the first time you will have to shake the crap out of it because it gets a layer on top. Then use a quarter of a cup. Don’t worry if it is clumpy or gross looking. It’s homemade after all. I use it with a cold water wash and it works better than most store-bought stuff.

3 thoughts on “Laundry Soap

Leave a Reply

