Dishwasher Detergent

When we first moved into our apartment for the first time in my life I was graced with a dishwasher. What a step up in the world! Especially when this fall there was a new one installed when the old wood-panelled one (seriously) that was originally here stopped working.  I really hate doing dishes, especially since we accumulate dirty dishes slowly over the course of the day, so we would either have to do one big wash at the end of the day or several small ones throughout the day. Anyways, here was this dishwasher all ready for me to use. So, of course my next step was to look at what green detergents were available in stores. Kurt wasn’t very happy that most of them seemed quite a bit more expensive, but we discussed the ingredients (or lack of) listed on the conventional products and how I did not want that awful bleachy smell every time we ran the dishwasher. In the end we picked up the cheapest bottle of environmentally friendly stuff. Sadly, it didn’t work that great. My next step (which really should have been my first step) was to research how to make my own. Turns out it is incredibly easy, I had most the ingredients in the house already, and it works great with absolutely no smell (which I did notice a little of even with our greener choice liquid).

So here is the recipe:

1/2 cup of borax

1/2 cup of washing soda

1/4 cup of citric acid

Put them all together in a container, then shake. Use a tablespoon each time.

I read through a lot of recipes online and the borax and soda seemed to be a constant. With just these two though, a lot of people reported cloudy dishes. This is what the citric acid is for. I bought mine in a glass jar at a bulk store, but it is much cheaper online through soap making websites. My dishes come out very clean, and it saves a lot of money.

Leave a Reply

